Why Didn’t Swamplandia Win The Pulitzer Prize? (UPDATE: Cuz the Pulitzer Committee Is Stupid)


For the first time since 1977, there was no Pulitzer Prize given in fiction. Instead, Denis Johnson’s Train Dreams, David Foster Wallace’s The Pale King, and Karen Russell’s Swamplandia will share a “tie,” though it’s not clear whether that means all three win, or, under Homer Simpson’s logic, “They’re all losers.” (It appears, according to the Pulitzer’s website, that it’s the latter….Read More

Follow: Evan McMurry @evanmcmurry  |  PoliticOlogy @OlogyPolitics


Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: